Unique in the Northeast, the Salmon River is an angler’s mecca. Thousands of trophy Chinook and coho salmon, steelhead, rainbows and brown trout, driven by the urge to spawn, run its length each year. Twelve miles of classic riffs, pools and runs are accessible to those who would test its waters with rod and reel.
In addition to spectacular sunsets over one of the Great Lakes, visitors to Selkirk Shores State Park can expect outstanding fishing and popular hiking and biking trails that lead to a lush mix of meadows and woodlands. Camping, boating, and cross country skiing.
Fort Ontario brings military life of 1868 alive for visitors.
This New York State Historic Site overlooks beautiful eastern Lake Ontario in Oswego. Located on a picturesque bluff overlooking Lake Ontario at 1 E. Fourth St., Oswego. Visitors have an opportunity to see the enlisted men’s barracks, officers’ quarters, the powder magazine, and much more.
Lock 1 in Phoenix to Lock 8 in Oswego (no Lock 4) along the Oswego River
1-800-4 CANAL 4 (432-6254)
The original Oswego Canal opened in 1828, three years after the Erie Canal was completed. Today the 23.7 mile Oswego Canal connects the Erie Canal at Three Rivers (Oneida River, Seneca River, Oswego River) to Oswego, a port city on Lake Ontario. The Oswego Canal currently follows the Oswego River its entire course, either using the river basin itself or artificial channels constructed using one bank of the river.a
Lake Ontario is the 14th largest freshwater lake in the world. It stretches for roughly 200 miles along New York State’s northern border from the Niagara River to the St. Lawrence River. Oswego County hosts one of the largest, most experienced charter fleets on Lake Ontario.
Trout and salmon, Atlantic salmon, brown trout, Chinook and coho salmon, lake trout, rainbow trout/steelhead, smallmouth bass, walleye, carp, catfish
Vehicle entrance fee $7 check website for other fees
Lake Ontario sandy beach between North and South Sandy Ponds offers swimming, picnicking and outdoor activities; bathhouse. Beach open weekends end of May through end of June, daily end of June through Labor Day. See more here.
The Oswego Speedway, located in Oswego New York, was built in 1951 when original owners Harry, George and William Caruso converted the one time Wine Creek Horse Track into a 3/8 mile dirt auto racing facility. The track was paved during 1952 and remained a 3/8 mile track until 1961 when it was enlarged to its current 5/8 mile size. The Oswego Speedway has been a continuously run weekly race track since it opened in August of 1951.